Is the Apple iPhone 3GS coming to Israel?
BySo normally I hat those annoying pop-ups from internet explorer that my pop-up blocker doesn’t block, but this one caught my eye since it features the new Apple iPhone with some tantalizing news; that the new iPhone is coming to Israel from Pelephone.

Now if this is true it means two things.
1. That the cell phone game will change in Israel with a lot of people switching over to Pelephone.
2. I am for sure going to get into a fight with my wife in the near future
But how do we know if it is legit? I do have a few questions, but first I did a little research. The domain name being used is GI-Israel.info. Why use a .info name and who is the owner? Plus I’m sure the .com would be available. So first I found out who the owner of the domain was and this is what I found:
Created On:07-Aug-2006 06:33:55 UTC
Last Updated On:23-Jul-2008 09:41:23 UTC
Expiration Date:07-Aug-2009 06:33:55 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Directi Internet Solutions Pvt. Ltd. d/b/a PublicDomainRegistry.com (R159-LRMS)
Status:OK
Registrant ID:DI_3654993
Registrant Name:Karin Oshri
Registrant Organization:Grey Interactive
Registrant Street1:154 Menachem Begin Rd.
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Tel Aviv
Registrant State/Province:Ha Merkaz
Registrant Postal Code:64921
Registrant Country:IL
Registrant Phone:+972.3608111
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:giisrael@nethost.co.il
So the next thing I did was check if it was the same company that owned the .com and it was. As you can see it is owned by Grey Interactive. I assume they use the .info domain for pop-up advertising or possible other forms of SPAM or ticking off potential customers, but they seem to be a legit business and are the Israel office of Global Grey Interactive.
So then I decided to go to Pelephones website and there it was on their home page!
So now I started to get excited, perhaps it’s true and the new iPhone will be coming to Israel soon. But I still had a few questions.
1. What does coming soon mean? A month? A year?
2. If it is a legit campaign then why use pop-ups or frankly any advertising for that matter? With Social Media they could get the word out with-out spending a shekel.
My best guess is that they Pelephone does not actually have a deal in place with Apple yet and they are doing this for 1 of 2 reasons.
1. They want their competitors to think they have a deal with Apple
or
2. They want to be able to go to Apple witha large list of “potential” clients and show Apple why they should work with them.
My guess is #2 since if they could get a list together of 250,000 people with there name, address, phone and TZ it could be enough to make Apple take a second look.
I filled out the form… just in case.
Update: Seems like Orange also has the same Ad! Check it out on their home page as well! Great news since I am already under contract with Orange!
Please post updates in the comment areas if you hear any more news.
No related posts.
Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.


2 Comments
June 26th, 2009 at 10:42 am
Here is the press release for Apple and Orange Iphone agreement.
http://tinyurl.com/ngdc6w
-Yudi
June 26th, 2009 at 11:28 am
Thanks for posting this Yudi! If you hear what the pricing will be or when the phone is being released, please let us know!